Rules Who Needs Them?

 

What’s the answer to that question?   I know someone who carries an imaginary backpack.  It’s filled with phantom books the size of the phone books you get in any major city.  Each of those books is filled with rules for every situation in the universe.  What a heavy load for this person to carry!

 

 

It amazes me that this person invents a rule for every situation he comes upon.  Now perhaps it’s because he’s Virgo Moon.  Perhaps it’s because he has a retrograde Mercury.  Whatever the reason, before he takes any action or says anything, he mentally goes flipping through all these imaginary books to find out what the rule is in this particular situation.  So if you meet him and he is hesitating to answer you, or is slow to respond, understand that he mentally is flipping through all these rule books frantically looking for the answer on how to proceed in this situation you are discussing

 

 

Why this amazes me is that I have invented my own rules for living since I was 2 years of age.  I never look to anyone else’s rule, but determine what single rule I choose to live by.  I have to look myself in the mirror every day.  So I have to live with my own conscience.  

 

So my rule always is,

“Will I be able to live with the outcome of this situation

tomorrow or

a week from now or

a year from now, or

for the rest of my life?

 

 

From my second year of teaching until I retired I gave this poem to every group of teens I worked with.  Teenagers as they feel their way through life are opposed to rules and restrictions of any kind.  These words led to some great discussions about why SOME rules are necessary.  It may help some of you out with the people in your household.

 

Rules by Rod McKuen in Watch for the Wind

 

I wish the rules for everything

Were printed in the daily paper,

Spelled out on billboards 10 feet high

Or taught to us in school.

Reading, writing and arithmetic and RULES

Not needed to pass the course

But to get us through

Our allotted time here.

 

Reflection Questions! 

  1.  What rule book do you follow?
  2. What is your main rule in life?
  3. What rules are not necessary?
  4. Why do we have rules of any kind?

 

Affirmations and Intentions:  I intend to follow my own rules in life, harming no person and seeking harmony.

 

 

Let’s increase the Love and vibrant energy of the planet!

Hugs and love from the Universe.

 

 

  If you are on a spiritual journey, you might also want to explore my website at www.moonwomenspirituality.com. 

For more information on dealing with the energy around life, love and relationships, visit my blog at  www.astromoon.wordpress.com.

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

