Joy & Happiness in Life’s Game

Batter up!  Play ball.  Joy and happiness is a baseball game.  Self esteem and success in life is a baseball game.  Achievement is a baseball game.  Get real with yourself and play baseball!

 

We watched a program on the news last night where in one Canadian city, they are using baseball to help build the self esteem of homeless people.  What an awesome concept.  Most of us have played baseball as kids growing up.  So we all understand the concept and the metaphor.

 

Game of Life

Game of Life

So you miss the pitch the first time.  That’s okay.  You have three strikes and you are out.  You have to practice a lot to connect that ball and bat of life.  Strike one … so I made a few mistakes.  I get a second chance.  I even get a third chance to connect just for this one inning or phase of my life.  You hit a fly ball to the outfield and begin running like crazy.  Whew, you make it to first base.  You were successful.  The problem is everyone on your team of life might not be as successful as you are.  Someone struck out and your team goes to the field.  So someone on the team made a mistake.  That doesn’t mean the game is over by a long shot.  Heavens you get to be up at bat nine innings.  Wow!  That’s a lot of tries to change your circumstances in your game of life.  We have lots of innings in our lives.  Every day virtually brings us a new inning.  So you should strive to do the best you can, just for today.  Eventually you will totally connect with that ball.

 

 

 

It totally baffles me that so many people give up the Game of Life after striking out one or two times.  They whine and snivel and play the blame game rather than looking at their own role in their Game of Life.  They expend so much energy looking for others to blame, that they keep on attracting negative situations to their lives.  That’s the Law of Attraction.  That’s what they feel they deserve, so that is what they get.  They easily can change the dynamics by merely practicing a different and more positive way.  When they are pointing a finger at others, there are 4 fingers pointing back at themselves.  But they totally refuse to look at their own actions and their own behavior.  Blame game is for life’s losers.

 

Mickey Mantle’s strikeout record was not reknowned.  He didn’t go down in baseball history for it.  Yet Mantle was the player with the most strikeouts for 3 years.  We remember him only for his success.  How did he get there?  He practiced until he got it.   http://www.bamagal.com/nyy/mantle/mmrec.html.   Babe Ruth connected with the ball only .711% of the time.  That’s less than 10% of the time! Neither of these famous baseball players were successful one would think.  Yet, every one of us knows their names whether we play baseball or not.  You see, they never gave up.  They kept on practicing.  They kept on striving for a better performance.  They kept on fine tuning their game of life.  They practiced and practiced until they each were successful.

 

Life is like that.  If you don’t get it the first time, you practice and fine tune parts of your game that aren’t quite perfect.  No Game of Life is perfect.  So please be an angel to yourself.  Just work at practicing and perfecting the art of living.  Sometimes you connect with the ball and get to run some of the bases.  Sometimes you don’t.  That’s okay.  You are just playing the Baseball Game of Life.  When you have practiced long enough so that you are much better, then you have an amazing joy when you connect with that ball.  Batter up!  Play ball!

 

Reflection Questions:

1.       What 4 areas of my life do I need more practice so I can hit the ball?

2.     Do I give up after one strike out?

3.     Do I let other people on my team influence whether I win or lose Life’s Game?

4.     Am I willing to play more than one inning in the Game of Life?

 

Affirmation:  I intend to make the best of today, just for today.  I intend to live my life to the fullest, just for today.  I intend to play the best game of my life, just for today!  I intend to feel good about my life, just for today.  One day at a time!  The outcome of the game is totally up to me!

 

“Defeat is a state of mind.

No one is ever defeated until defeat has been accepted as reality.

To me, defeat in anything is merely temporary, and

its punishment is but an urge for me to

greater effort to achieve my goal.

Defeat simply tells me that something is wrong in my doing;

it is a path leading to success and truth.”

(Bruce Lee; 1940-1973)

 

 

I love my journey into myself.  Do you love your journey?  If not, then do the work to empower yourself!  If you found this helpful, then visit my website www.moonwomenspirituality.com.  If your want information on how the daily Moon and Sun energy emotionally affects you, your love and your relationships, visit my astrology blog at www.astromoon.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

