Love Yourself, Then Love Family

With spiritual counseling with women and particularly mothers, I tell them to love themselves first.  The psychology behind this is the secret.  This focuses woman energy on the family in a more pleasant way.  If the woman takes time to pamper herself daily, then she has refilled her emotional well.  She then feels better about herself and has more energy to give to her husband or partner as well as to her kids.

 

 

For example my daughter-in-law has three young children.  As a stay-at home mother for the past decade, she has totally devoted her life to her family.  However she has done little for herself.  In the spring she was telling me how exhausted she was.  I asked her what she was doing for herself and heard the usual “there is no time for me” story.  I asked her the same reflection questions below.  She choose to start pampering herself by getting up an hour earlier every day and going for a walk.  This is  me time” for her when she could relax, get in touch with herself, meditate while walking, and so on.  She was emotionally exhausted from being a mother and wife.  Four months after doing this for herself, she is re-energized, has lost several pounds and looks forward to life.  That sounds to me like a win-win situation.  She wins, her relationship wins, and her children win.  Win-win situations are so delicious!

 

 

 

Reflection Questions

1.      What 4 things would I choose for pampering myself?           

2.       Where can I find time today to do at least one of those 4 things?

3.      Do I love myself enough for “pamper me time?”

4.      On a scale of 1-10 how well do I love myself?  5 = average, 10 is top of the scale.

 

To love oneself is the beginning of a life-long romance”.

(Oscar Wilde)

 

 

I love my journey into myself.  Do you love your journey?  If not, then do the work to change that!  If you found this helpful, then visit my website www.moonwomenspirituality.com or if your desire information on how horoscopes relate to love, visit www.wisewomaninwoods.blog.ca

Leave a Reply

